Brief thought exercise: why do we keep applying business and market principles to the idea of education?

Great points!

The Context Of Things

This will be a pretty short post, because if I wrote everything I wanted to write about it, I’d be here for hours and probably get off into a series of meandering sub-points that wouldn’t ultimately benefit anyone. Lest you think I have no qualifications to discuss this topic, though, a quick aside: I was a Teach for America corps member and I have worked in different education capacities since doing that. It is something I care a lot about. Do I have children of my own? No, not yet. When and if that happens, I presume it will shift a lot of my thinking on the issue.

When I did Teach for America, No Child Left Behind was the thing. If you don’t know what that is, basically it was a way to directly tie standards back to learning, and funnel everything through testing. People railed against it. Eventually…

View original post 587 more words

Leave a Reply

