Workplace Bullying: Last Woman Standing

 

Rear view of businesswoman leaning against a windowsill and thinking

As I looked around, I realized that I was the last woman standing. Many of the people I had taught with were gone, but with Mark’s practice we couldn’t pull up stakes and leave. We had to stay in in his home town.  And boy did I become a target!  Here are a few things I learned:

  • I developed Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. This was not due to one incident, but a culmination of many events—much of which was suppressed.
  • I wasn’t a “slut or nut”  like the school district tried to paint me.
  • People will betray you.
  • Colleagues will lie under oath.
  • Your past will eventually surface. It can’t stay bottled up forever.
  • It is best to get help as soon as possible.
  • The Defense teams will try to break you.
  •  In order to truly move forward and cope you need valid professional help.

 

Leave a Reply

